Smarter Travel Professional of the Year Award

The judges were impressed with the calibre of the entries in this category. This Award is for the individual smarter travel professional who has made an outstanding personal contribution to sustainable transport.

The finalists:

  • Richard Smith MCIHT, Director - Action Streets

  • Beccy Marston, West Midlands Operations Manager – BikeRight!

  • Sophie Lewis, Digital Marketing and Information Executive, Smart Network Smarter Choices programme – Centro

  • Ceri James, Senior Transport Planner – London Borough of Ealing

Winner: Richard Smith, Director of Action Streets

Richard has had a long and varied career in sustainable transport. He has delivered cycling projects in the north-east, led schemes such as the ‘Walk-to-Work’ campaign, lectured at Newcastle University, and now co-ordinates Smarter Choices for Cycle Coventry.

An expert in community engagement, he’s delivered a 9,000-strong Skyride event, as well as supporting the staging of an international cycle-speedway event between Britain and Australia.

This past year he has supported journey planning in the workplace by implimenting the Bike Citizen’s App that turns mobiles into satnavs.
He’s built cycling promotion into Coventry Council's internal and external communications and has played a major part in growing the subscriber-base of the Cycle Coventry monthly e-news bulletin by 60%.

Richard never tires of championing the benefits of Smarter Travel

Hosted by:

Partnering publications and organisations:

Milton Keynes Council
Local Transport Today
Parking Review

Organised by:

Landor LINKS
Sponsorship queries, contact Daniel Simpson l l 020 7091 7861
Conference enquiries, contact l 020 7091 7865

By registering to attend, you are giving Landor LINKS permission to contact you about similar events in the future. Please note that the published programme is subject to change without notice. Promocodes must be redeemed at time of purchase

Published programme subject to change. Event booking subject to payment terms.

Photography by:
©†Landor LINKS 2015


Smarter Travel Awards 2016

17 March 2016
ArenaMK, Milton Keynes

Organised by:

Landor LINKS

Supported by:

Transport Systems Catapult
Department for Transport
Active Travel Network
Steer Davies Gleave

Sponsored by:

Smarter Travel LIVE!
ATKINSSmarter Travel Awards 2016