Smarter Travel Professional of the Year

This award is for the individual smarter travel professional who has made an outstanding personal contribution to the industry. 

Sponsored by: YourBike


The finalists are:

  • Chris Alston, Cycling UK Liverpool City Region

  • Michael Barratt, Development Impact Assessment Manager, Transport for London

  • Ali Clabburn, Founder & CEO, Liftshare

  • Veronica Reynolds, Specialist Travel Advisor, Vectos




Best Shared Transport Project Award 

This award recognises the contribution made by shared transport, such as car clubs, ride sharing, public hire bike services and technology systems that make multi-modal travel practical for the general public.

The finalists are:

  • Co-Wheels, Car Club CIC

  • Liftshare, myPTP




Best Smarter Travel Innovation Award 

The Innovation award is open to all mobility related projects that display a commitment to design or technological innovation.

Sponsored by: Mott MacDonald

Mott MacDonald

The finalists are:

  • AppyParking, Smart City Parking System

  • Better Points, Better Points Mobile App    

  • DriverNet, DriverNet App

  • The Floow, FloowDrive

  • Flx Rides, Flx Mobility platform

  • Go Travel Solutions, SmartGo

  • InaParc, Elevation Upgrade Kits and Little Lift

  • JustPark, Predictive Availability for Parking

  • Sitata, Go Anywhere, Stay Safe

  • Transport for London, 21st Century Travel Plans




Best Behaviour Change Campaign Award 

This award recognises the smarter travel behaviour change campaigns that engage with their target audiences, have a measurable impact, are replicable and represent great value for money.  They can be single medium or cross-channel.

Sponsored by: Merseytravel


The finalists are:

  • Betterpoints, Bella Mossa    

  • Bristol City Council, Active Travel Champion Campaign "The Challenge"

  • Cycling UK, Cycle 4 Health

  • Hampshire County Council and Southampton City Council (Lead), #StepUpSouthampton

  • Liftshare, Jaguar Land Rover Partnership

  • RingGo, Emissions Based Parking

  • Hampshire County Council and Southampton City Council (Lead), Get Cycle Savvy

  • Transport for London, The Roadworks Patrol

  • Waltham Forest Council, Complimentary Measures Team




Best Mobility as a Service Project Award 

A new award for 2018 will reward innovations in Mobility as a Service.  The award will recognise developments in multi-modal and integrated travel through a MaaS platform that can handle all transport choices and payments.

Sponsored by: Innovate UK

The finalists are:

  • AppyParking, Last Meter Navigation™

  • Atkins/SNC-Lavalin & TfGM, MaaS development in Greater Manchester: building a sustainable business model from real world trials

  • ESP Group, NaviGoGo

  • PTV Group, MaaS Barcelona




Best Accessible Transport Project Award 

The accessible transport award will recognise achievements in accessibility and those that are making transport available for all.

The finalists are:

  • Grid Smarter Cities, assist-Mi

  • Mott MacDonald, Chester Bus Interchange

  • Neatebox, Neatebox Button App    




Best Demand Responsive Transport Award 

Flexible, demand responsive transport (DRT) has seen a resurgence in the last few years and is helping to support communities by making transport more accessible.  Technology has helped enable quick advances and new services in the DRT industry.  This award will recognise those at the front-line of innovations and service delivery. 

Sponsored by: Transport Systems Catapult

Transport Systems Catapult

The finalists are:

  • Arriva, ArrivaClick

  • Faxi, Queens Hospital Project​​




Best Connected Transport Award

The UK is a leader in the research and development of Connected & Autonomous Vehicle technology.  There are now over 60 pilots, mainly funded through the UK government / InnovateUK.  This award will recognise the project teams that are pushing the envelope and making CAVs a reality in our generation.

The finalists are:

  • Atkins/SNC-Lavalin, VENTURER

  • Project Centre, The Four Step Road Design Strategy





Best Smart City Project Award 

The best smart city project award will be awarded to the project that has best shown a holistic approach to becoming smarter, cleaner, safer and more sustainable.   Entries should reflect all elements that contribute to becoming a smart city: data, air quality, connectivity, physical and digital infrastructure and so on.

Sponsored by: Stagecoach


The finalists are:

  • Bristol City Council, Bristol’s Traffic Control Service, Bristol Operations Centre

  • Transport for Greater Manchester, CityVerve



Smarter Travel Awards 2018 Sponsors:

Mott MacDonald YourBike Innovate UK Transport Systems Catapult Merseytravel



Delegate & Logistics Enquiries: conferences@landor.co.uk | 020 7091 7865
Sponsorship & Exhibiting Enquiries: daniel@landor.co.uk | 020 7091 7861
©Landor LINKS 2018| #smartertravellive


Sponsored by:

Mott MacDonald
Innovate UK
Arriva Click
Transport Systems Catapult
Your Bike
Smarter Travel LIVE! 2018
Smarter Travel LIVE! 2018
Image from Smarter Travel LIVE! 2017

The 2018 Finalists


Smarter Travel Awards 2018

16-17 October 2018
Exhibition Centre, Liverpool

Organised by:

Liverpool City Region

Hosted by:

Milton Keynes Council